How to Become a Notary
resident citizen or alien of the state, eighteen
years of age or older, may be appointed a notary
public in and for the parish in which he resides
provided that he meets the requirements established
by law, La.R.S.35:191(C).
applicants must be qualified by the office of the
Secretary of State and must take and pass the state
notary examination unless they are licensed
to practice law in Louisiana. The
examination is given twice a year on the first
Saturday in June and December.
How to Qualify
The applicant is required to complete an
Application to Qualify in which
La.R.S.35:191 requires the applicant to: attest to
his good moral character, integrity and sober
habits, be registered to vote in the parish in which
he seeks commission, be a citizen or resident alien
of the state and be 18 years of age or older.
How to Apply to Take
Once you have completed the Application to
Qualify, you can apply to take the
examination by filling out the
Examination Registration Form. The
Application to Qualify and
Examination Registration Form must be
approved by the office of the Secretary of State.
The deadline to get your Application to
Qualify and Examination
Registration Form to the
office of the Secretary of State is 45 days prior to
Qualifying Application completed and notarized
with a $25 qualifying fee
(separate from commission filing fee).
Examination Registration Form along with $75
registration fee (separate fee).
Once an applicant has taken and passed the
examination, the following documents must be
filed with the Secretary of State's office along
with the $35 commission filing fee, in order to
receive their notary commission:
Oaths of Office, properly executed. Send one
(1) to Secretary of State and file one (1) with
parish Clerk of Court.
Official Signature page.
Surety or Personal surety bond that has been
approved by the parish Clerk of Court in the
amount of $10,000.
Errors and Omissions policy in the amount of
Attorneys provide an original certificate of
good standing from the Louisiana Supreme Court
(504-310-2300) issued within the past 30 days.
Attorneys do not have to file a notary bond.
commission filing fee - check or money order
(payable to the Secretary of State).
Note: Completed documents should be mailed to
the Secretary of State's office for filing.
* Attorneys are excluded from #2 *
How to Prepare for the
The Fundamentals of LOUISIANA NOTARIAL LAW and
PRACTICE (Louisiana Notary Public
Examination Official Study Guide) is available to
purchase by completing the
Notary Public Study Guide Order Form.
You can purchase the book by fax, email, or mail.
course or class is required by law in order for you
to take the examination, but we suggest you take a
good course or join a good study group. Although the
Secretary of State does not recommend particular
courses or instructors, we maintain the
list of registered and bonded notary
exam preparatory course providers.
information and forms can be obtained on the
Louisiana Secretary of State